Allen Ginsberg award winners to read their poems at Paterson’s Hamilton Club | Paterson Times

Allen Ginsberg award winners to read their poems at Paterson’s Hamilton Club


The winners of the Allen Ginsberg Poetry Awards will read their poems at the Passaic County Community College on Saturday, February 4, 2017.

Readings will take place at the college’s poetry center in the historic Hamilton Club building at 32 Church Street at 1 p.m.

The winners of the 2016 Allen Ginsberg Awards are:
First place: Ann Clark, Dexter, NY.
Second place: Annie Lanzillotto, Yonkers, NY.
Third place: Maxine Susman, Princeton, NJ.

The award named in honor of Beat Generation poet Allen Ginsberg best known for “Howl” is given every year. First place winner receives $1,000; second place, $200; and third place, $100.

Winning poems are published in the Paterson Literary Review.

The 2016 honorable mentions are Stanley H. Barkan, Merrick, NY; R. Bremner, Glen Ridge, NJ; Linda A. Cronin (1970-2016); R.G. Evans, Elmer, NJ; James D. Gwyn, Clifton, NJ; Matt Hohner, Baltimore, MD; Jean Hollander, Hopewell, NJ; Barbara Krasner, Somerset, NJ; Annette Krizanich, Vestal, NY; Michelle Lerner, Flanders, NJ; Bruce Lowry, Summit, NJ; Nancy Lubarsky, Cranford, NJ; Francesca Maxime, Brooklyn, NY; Greg Moglia, Huntington, NY; Robert A. Rosenbloom, Bound Brook, NJ; Arthur Russell, Nutley, NJ; Dave Seter, Petaluma, CA; Arne Weingart, Chicago, IL; Sherida Yoder, North Haledon, NJ.

This is a free program. Free parking is available at the open lot in the corner of Church Street and College Boulevard.

The Passaic County Community College Poetry Center which issues the award is taking entries for the 2017 awards. To enter visit the Poetry Center at the Passaic County Community College website. Deadline for 2017 entries is February 1, 2017.