Paterson honoring 25 people in celebration of city’s 225th birthday | Paterson Times

Paterson honoring 25 people in celebration of city’s 225th birthday


More than two dozen people are being honored for the city’s 225th birthday celebration. Mayor Jose “Joey” Torres announced the names of 25 people to be honored at the Brownstone House on Saturday, July 1, 2017.

Torres said the nominees were selected for distinguishing themselves in a particular field or have made great contribution that defines a lifelong commitment to the City of Paterson. 11 honorees are being recognized for their exceptional achievements in education, business, law enforcement, government, community service, and other areas. 14 have demonstrated a lifelong commitment to America’s first planned industrial city founded by Alexander Hamilton on July 4, 1792 to reduce America’s reliance on British manufacturing.

“I am pleased to acknowledge this incredible group of men and women who have dedicated so much of their time, talent and treasures to making Paterson the great city it is,” Torres said. “These winners have given much to Paterson, and the occasion of our city’s 225th anniversary is the perfect backdrop to recognize their contributions.”

Awardees selected for distinguishing themselves in their particular fields are:

  • Education:  Dr. Steven Rose, President, Passaic County Community College
  • Business:  Alfonso Daloisio Jr., President, Railroad Construction Company
  • Law Enforcement:  Alex Cruz, President, Paterson PBA
  • Non-Profit:  Paterson Habitat for Humanity (Barbara Dunn, Executive Director)
  • Government:  Assemblyman Benjie Wimberly
  • Arts:  Nicholas Rodriguez, Inner City Ensemble
  • Community Service:  Mike Adams, Carolina Panthers
  • Law:  Bernice Toledo, Passaic County Surrogate
  • Healthcare:  Sisters of Charity of St. Elizabeth & St. Joseph’s Healthcare System
  • Faith-Based Leadership:  Rev. Dr. John A. Algera, Pastor, Madison Avenue CRC
  • Youth Leadership:  Sarai Perez, Student, Montclair State University

Honorees selected for demonstrating a lifelong commitment to Paterson are:

  • Pat Kramer, former Mayor of Paterson
  • Congressman Bill Pascrell
  • Senator Nellie Pou
  • Charles Hirsh, Chairman, Accurate Box Company
  • Leonard Zax, President, Hamilton Partnership for Paterson
  • Victor Cruz, Chicago Bears
  • Rev. Msgr. Mark J. Giordano, Rector, Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist
  • Anthony Coscia, Chairman, Board of Directors, Amtrak
  • Vera Ames, former Councilwoman
  • Maria Magda, former Councilwoman
  • Eli Burgos, Retired City Business Administrator
  • Frank Blesso, Retired City Administrator
  • Jean Wiart, Artisan, Les Métalliers Champenois
  • Dr. Joseph Fulmore, Retired Paterson School Administrator

The honorees were selected through a citywide nomination process.

“These awards provide an opportunity to shine a light on outstanding individuals who have helped Paterson grow and prosper,” Bob Guarasci, chairman of the Paterson 225 steering committee. “While they may not all be household names, they are heroes who have worked and do work every day to honor Paterson’s past while ensuring a bright future.”

  • Bruce Ross

    Rev.Boyer should have been on that list

  • David Davis