Four win Allen Ginsberg Poetry Awards | Paterson Times

Four win Allen Ginsberg Poetry Awards


Four poets from Teaneck, Bound Brook, Wanaque, and West Orange won Allen Ginsberg Poetry Prizes, announced the Poetry Center at the Passaic County Community College on Tuesday afternoon.

First place winners were Howard Berelson of Teaneck and Robert A. Rosenbloom of Bound Brook. Second and third prizes went to Eileen Van Hook of Wanaque and Phillipa Scott of West Orange.

Winners of the 2017 Allen Ginsberg Poetry Awards will read their poems on Saturday, February 3, 2018 at the historic Hamilton Club Building at 32 Church Street. Reading starts at 1 p.m.

The annual award named after famed Beat Generation poet and philosopher Allen Ginsberg recognizes his contribution to American literature. Ginsberg was born in Newark and raised in Paterson.

First place winner receives $1,000. Second place gets $200. And third place is awarded $100. Winning poems are published in the following year’s issue of the Paterson Literary Review.

Deadline for the 2018 Allen Ginsberg Award is February 1, 2018. For more information visit poetrycenterpccc.com.