Mimms, Davila, Rivera win at-large Paterson council seats | Paterson Times

Mimms, Davila, Rivera win at-large Paterson council seats


Councilwoman Maritza Davila successfully defended her seat on Tuesday while Lilisa Mimms and Flavio Rivera were elected to the City Council.

Davila won with 5,277 votes. She was followed by Mimms with 4,823 ballots. And Rivera (center) was third with 4,387, according to unofficial election results.

Both the incumbent and the two new members of the council will be sworn into office on Jul. 1, 2018.

Rivera’s victory means he will have to vacate his school board seat.

Other candidates in the race:

  • Mohammed Akhtaruzzaman, 3,979
  • Kenneth McDaniel, 3,411
  • Juan “Mitch” Santiago, 3,212
  • Aslon Goow, 3,098
  • Zellie Thomas, 2,753
  • Bernard Jones, 2,169
  • Casey Melvin, 1,621
  • Douglas Maven, 1,604
  • Davon Roberts, 1,105
  • Fatima Bell, 1,052
  • Angela Muhammad, 1,052.

The election results are based on 67 of 68 districts or 98.53-percent of the votes counted.

Mail-in votes played a big role in the at-large race.

Davila had 1,384 mail-in ballots while Rivera had 1,357.

Akhtaruzzaman had the most with 1,734. He failed to garner support beyond the 2nd Ward.

Email: [email protected]

Related posts